Summertime, summertime, sum-sum-summertime

 

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.  ~Russel Baker

 

It’s almost here!  Summertime!  That magic time when there’s no more pencils, no more books, no more teachers’ dirty looks.

It’s also that magic time when parents who stay home with their children try desperately to find something for the kids to do so they don’t end up killing each other out of boredom.  Yes, that would be me.  Luckily, I have a job where I can take the kids with me.  During the summer, I usually work with the older kids so my younger kids can be someone else’s problem because I like the laid back fun we can have during the summer.  We go outside, play kick ball, dodge ball, four-square, have jump rope contests, things like that.  On rainy days, we do crafts and such that we can’t with the little ones because of the small pieces and parts.  This summer, Monkey will be in with the older kids.  I’m looking forward to it, actually.  

But on the days I’m not working, I’ll have a whole, entire day to entertain the kids.  Yippee.  Part of me is looking forward to it.  We have lots of nice parks in the area, including a lake-beach and a sprinkler pad, so we’ll spend a large amount of time outdoors.  We won’t have to wake up early anymore (but try explaining that to a three-year-old…), we won’t have to go to bed on time every night, we’ll get to spend evenings and weekends out on the lake.  It’ll be good times.

Except when the kids are stuck inside trying to irritate each other to death.

What is it about summers that do that to children?  I was talking with a friend yesterday about year-round schools and how nice that schedule would be.  We spend all summer long trying to figure out something to do with our kids – summer camps, playdates, sleep overs, vacations – and by mid-July we’re all ready to send them back to boarding school anyway, so why not?  It just makes more sense… but I digress.  This isn’t about year-round school schedules.  This is about summer time.

We have a beach vacation planned (Little Man’s first time at the beach!) but that’s about it so far.  I’m sure we’ll travel to the mountains since they’re close, we’ll spend lots of time swimming and playing at parks, maybe a trip or two to area museums, but what else is there to do?  Do you have any suggestions?  What are you doing for the summer?  I’d love to hear your ideas…

4 thoughts on “Summertime, summertime, sum-sum-summertime

  1. Someone wrote on my site (or it might have been Cindy’s) a couple of days ago about doing a park survey each summer where they would take their children to a new park each day and they would compare them. Sounded like fun to me.

Leave a Reply

