Summer is half-way over! AHHH!

Today is the 4th of July.  The “official” middle of summer.  And it has hit me over the last few days that our homeschool will be starting in about a month.  Am I nervous, scared, intimidated?  You bet.  I’m not the most organized person in the world, although some who’ve seen my coupon system would disagree.  I’m starting to feel a little overwhelmed with the prospect of getting things ready.

I made a mistake the other day.  I started looking at pictures people have posted about their homeschool rooms and the organization and neatness just poured out from the monitor.  Oh yeah, that is so not me.  Not only do we not have a dedicated school room (which I know a lot of people don’t) but I don’t have a system in place yet for all the school supplies that invariably go along with teaching a 2nd grader.

So I went to Joann’s craft store to buy storage boxes (they were on sale) for things like crayons and paints and craft sticks and paper and glue and scissors and markers and paint brushes and yarn and index cards and…. You get the idea.  But where do I put them all?  I think what I’m going to have to do is sacrifice some of my scrapbooking cubbies and shelves to store all of these boxes.  I’m not working on my scrapbooks at home much anyway, so if I can figure out a storage system in all my scrapbook bags and such, then I can convert the cubbies into to a school supply closet, so to speak.

I did manage to get my hands on a door hanging pocket organizer for Monkey’s room.  There are big pockets to hold the workbooks we’ll be using, smaller pockets for the books she’s reading and her writing utensils and such.  At least I got that taken care of.  Now I just need to work on my space.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Have a great 4th of July, everyone!  It’s a celebration of our Independence; our country’s birthday.  Happy Birthday, United States of America!

10 thoughts on “Summer is half-way over! AHHH!

  1. Welcome to my world. As a school teacher for over 40 years, I wish more people could experience what teachers must do to prepare for just one day’s work. Teaching is a grueling job. You must love the children, or you will never survive. I know you will succeed. I wish you well.

    • See, Hayden, that’s part of my problem. I don’t know what I’ll “really” need, so I feel like I need to get everything. And since I’m a packrat by nature, I’m having a hard time sorting some things into the trash bin because, well, I might need it later. Homeschooling is beginning to feel like an unorganized person’s worse nightmare.

  2. I’m right where you are except this will be my 13th year of hs’ing! I’m dedicating this week to getting my homeschool groove back. We’ve been running on auto-pilot for a bit too long and we need to get back on track. All the planning is worth it! Hang in there and make it work for you.

    • Hi, Tiffany, thanks for visiting.
      I know it’ll be worth it, I just have to take that first step and work on it bit by bit. I get hung up on the bigness (is that really a word?) of it all and paralysis starts to set in. But I’ll eventually make it work for me – I hope 🙂

  3. Ah yes, figuring out how to store all the homeschooling materials in your abode can be daunting, especially if your anything like me, one who hoards things constantly with the intention of using it for some way cool project in the future. It’s lovely to meet you via SITS! And don’t worry about being late for roll call, better late than never right?! 🙂

    • Thanks for visiting! I’m exactly like that – I hang on to things for future projects all the time. And do I do anything with them? nope. Not usually. It’s daunting, but I’m taking it bit by bit. I’m hoping that by August, everything will be ready.

  4. I don’t homeschool but we hang as much up as possible. I think we have more things on our wall than in our closet. Think work garage instead of bedroom. You might like the chore chart game I just posted it could easily be adapted for homeschooling. Hugs, Jen

    • Hi Jen,
      I’m working on hanging things. I bought a shoe/room organizer to hang on the back of her door for her reading and workbooks and we’ve hung a schedule up for her to follow. There’s only so much wall space I have available for my things. I like the chore chart game! I’m sure it’s something my little Monkey will follow, but I’ll have to put that on the back burner for now. Once I get in the swing of school, I’ll revisit the idea. It’s so pretty, tho, I could totally see Monkey following it much better than just checking off a grid.

Leave a Reply

