First day of school

Well, it has begun.  Just barely, though.  Monkey and I started her school today.  I’m a fan of year round school schedules and since I’m the headmaster (ooo, I like that!) of this school, I decided we’d start early.  Just a little at a time, though, because I don’t want to rush into a full schedule or anything.

This week, we’re starting our reading.  Monkey read the first chapter of Clara and the Bookwagon in about 5 minutes.  We did some brief map work – the story is set in Maryland, early 1900’s – and I asked her some questions about what she read to make sure she comprehended the story.

That’s pretty much it for this week.  She’ll finish Clara and the Bookwagon, start The Long Way to a New Land, do some map work and answer questions.  She’s a good and fast reader so I don’t expect this to take much time.  Thursday, we’ll start our art class.  Again, it’ll be something fun but simple, just to get us in the groove.

Our first school day lasted about 10 minutes.  I could get used to this.

12 thoughts on “First day of school

  1. Will be really interested to see how you go.
    My son has just finished Year 1 at school and I am not very happy with how it’s gone at all.
    Just had his report and it doesn’t reflect him at all – and I sit and do ‘fun homework’ with him nearly every day.

    • Hi Tara,
      Sorry to hear that! I’ll be updating periodically here, but you’re always welcome to ask me questions – although, really? – I’m not so sure I know what I’m doing just yet.

  2. Hi there,
    You were on roll call at sits just above me so I stopped by to say hi. I pray that all goes well with the homeschool journey. I enjoy it very much especially knowing that I’m doing what’s in the best interest of my boys. Have a great day!

    • Thanks for visiting! I hope that I’ll enjoy it as much as so many others seem to. We’ll see how it goes. It’s going to be an interesting journey, that’s for sure 🙂

  3. Kool, –cannot wait to see the kids and see monkeys reading!! Good Luck and I know you will do just fine–that Capricorn thingy you know! Love, M

    • 😀 I wondered how many reactions like that I would get when I named my post “First Day of School.” It’s kinda that same feeling I used to get when I would see all the “back to school” sales.

      Thanks for visiting!

  4. I’ve been trying to get things ready for school. I hope I make it! Lots of prep this year. I’ve still got a few weeks though.

    • I’m glad that I’m taking the slow approach by just doing a little at a time for a few weeks. There’s no way I’d be ready if I were to just jump right in to a full course load. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

