Happy Birthday, Monkey!

Today is my little baby girl’s birthday.  She’s 7.  Thursday I was watching a dvd that I had made back when her daddy was in Afghanistan and Monkey was 1.  In my mind, she is still that cute little toddler exploring her toys and the house, squealing at our old golden retriever, with cute little red curls all around her head.

Now, she’s a sassy big 7 year old, with a missing tooth from a playground fight that fell out one morning while eating rice krispies.

Today, she’s getting a razor scooter from mommy and daddy.  I’m sure we’ll be making a trip to the emergency room within the next year or so.

Next week, Mawmaw and Pawpaw are coming to visit for Monkey’s pool party and they’re bringing her twin cousins.  She is SO excited.  One of the gifts from Mawmaw and Pawpaw is a skateboard.  Yep, emergency room, here we come.

Wanna know a funny story?  I had to take Little Man shopping with me for the presents while Monkey was off with one of her friends for her friend’s birthday celebration.  I found the pink scooter and a cool skateboard.  Called Mawmaw to let her know what to look for (we were both at Target at the same time – love that!).  They didn’t have the right board so I offered to pick it up for them.

That evening, this transpired:

Him:  “Monkey, guess what we got you today!”

Me:  “Shush, Little Man!!  It’s a secret”

Him:  “Guess what we got!”

Her:  “What is it?”

Me:  “No, Little Man!!”

Him:  ” A skateboard!”

Her:  “I got a skateboard?”

Me:  “No!”

I’m guessing that I’m not going to be able to take Little Man with me shopping for Christmas, either, like I used to.

7 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Monkey!

  1. Oh definitely not! Sorry he ruined the surprise. Kids, I tell ya…

    Visiting from SITS and happy birthday to your little girl! I’m sure she’s going to love zipping around all over the place with you chasing closely behind 🙂

  2. Ha, very cute! I think it’s great when the little ones can’t keep secrets, it’s like they just don’t understand the concept yet. 🙂

    Stopping by from SITS.

Leave a Reply

