Homeschool, day 2

We’re off to a fairly decent start with our school year.  I’ve been easing into it over the last few weeks for both of to get used to it and this week is our official “start.”

Right now our biggest struggles are getting Monkey to finish the work she dislikes in a timely manner and her little brother.  As for getting the work done, I know how she feels.  I have the same problem doing things I don’t like.  I’m trying to have patience with her but it’s a struggle sometimes.  Especially when I want to take us somewhere fun later like swimming and she’s sulking along slowly.

Her brother is a whole ‘nother issue.  I don’t know if it’s because he doesn’t want Monkey to have me all to herself or if he’s just looking to get attention because she’s getting attention (or a combination of the two) but he really is distracting us.

I could just park him in front of the TV each morning while Monkey and I work but that doesn’t really solve the problem.  Well, it does, but not in a way I would like to.  This morning, after about an hour of antics, he finally went to play in his room and did really well staying out of the way.

Once we get into the routine of things, I’m sure it will improve as they both get used to everything, but my patience is certainly being tested these days.

8 thoughts on “Homeschool, day 2

    • I wouldn’t call myself better than you, just taking a different path. I know it’ll take getting used to, I’m just not a very patient person 🙂

      Thanks for the visit!

  1. My little guy has trouble in school when they are working on things he doesn’t like too. I’m pretty sympathetic, but his junior kindergarten teacher wasn’t always! Give me a break, he was three/four!

    Anyway, I’m sure you are right. Once the routine is established it will go much smoother. The little monkeys always love routine.

    Came over from SITS!

Leave a Reply

