Monkey wants a hamster

If that headline doesn’t get you, I’m not quite sure what will, but Monkey does, indeed, want a hamster.  I have explained to her that we have enough pets (two cats and one crazy boxer) and that I’m not entirely convinced she’s responsible enough to take care of a small  creature that is living and breathing.  I don’t know how many times I’ve rescued her new guinea pig Webkinz from the jowls of said boxer so I shudder to think what might happen to a little fuzzy hamster.

Luckily for me, there’s now Zhu Zhu Hamster.  If you haven’t yet seen one of these cute little balls of electronic fur, you’re missing out on the newest hot toy of the season.  Now let’s be honest, people.  I had no idea what these were until I Googled them.  Even Monkey couldn’t tell me which is why I searched the Search Engine That Knows All to find out more.  Naturally, once Monkey saw them, she knew exactly what I was asking about and now has to have one.  I mean, how can you go wrong with a toy that inspires this for a headline:  Zhu Zhu Pets:  Like a Hamster Without the Mess and Death ?

Seriously?

Seriously.  But they are cute.  And they do have all these accessories like a real hamster would – a running wheel, tunnels and beds, even cars and skateboards to ride!  How can you go wrong with hamsters named Mr. Squiggles, Pipsqueak, Num Nums and Chunk?  And also each is reported to have its own personality.  You never know what they’ll do next.  It looks like these will be the new Furby/Cabbage Patch Kid/Tickle Me Elmo of the season and their prices are showing it.  Amazon is carrying them, at close to $30+ a piece, although I have heard that on occasion you can find them at Walmart for less than $15.  Toys R Us is getting multiple calls a day and can’t keep them on the shelves when they do arrive – or so I hear.  And ebay?  Don’t even think about it unless you’re willing to pay $80 for all four hamsters in one lot bidding or over $300 for the hamsters, plus the funhouse, adventure wheel and tunnels, hamstermobile and garage, surfboard and sleepdome and two blankets and carriers (but not four, so two of the hamsters have to go without).  Although, I am getting a great big kick out of looking at what people have on ebay and what the bids are up to.  You should go check it out.

I’m sure in the long run, money will be saved by not having to pay for food and bedding but with the prices I’m seeing for the hamsters and their accessories, it’ll be a long while.  But at least with the Zhu Zhu Hamster, you don’t have to worry about the mess and death.

(and believe me, I’ll be scanning the shelves at Target and Walmart at least once a week between now and Christmas to see if I can get my hands on one or more)

6 thoughts on “Monkey wants a hamster

  1. I’m glad my little one doesn’t know about Zhu Zhu Hamsters! Although these do sound like a much better option than the real thing.

    Stopped by from SITS to share the comment love!

    • They are pretty cute :). Our three year old doesn’t know about them yet, but I’m sure if I find any for Monkey, I’ll have to buy one for Little Man, too. Have a great weekend!

  2. I love the title : ) So cute! Stopping over from SITS! Hope you and your household of creatures (real and online) have a fabulous Labor Day weekend : ) I am sure my son will be wanting one of these online things soon too. He just started playing with his webkinz again. We hadn’t done those all summer.

    • Actually, these aren’t like Webkinz (although we have 5 of those!). These are electronic toys that run around the house, squeak, that sort of thing. They are pretty cute, but I really could see out crazy boxer chasing them down and chewing them up.
      Have a great weekend!

  3. Pingback: Black Friday « Butterflies in my hand

Leave a Reply

