Physical Therapy

Did you know that physical therapists like to hurt people?  At least, that’s what mine told me last week.  She said it was one of two jobs she could go into and get paid to hurt people.  She wasn’t a good enough shot to be an assassin so she went into physical therapy.  She’s got a great sense of humor, that one.

In all seriousness, though, she’s well aware of the reputation that surrounds PTs and she uses it to her advantage.

What?  Why am I seeing a physical therapist?  Oh, sorry, forgot I didn’t mention that part.  I have bursitis in my hip and it’s been there for four years.  I’ve been through PT before, I’ve had steroid injections and prescription anti-inflammatories and I’ve gone to a chiropractor.  There have also been many months in between where I was just too busy to try doctors for it again and just bulled through the chronic pain of it.  It’s worse in the evenings and if I’ve had an active-on-my-feet kind of day (which is everyday when you have two young children).

But I finally got tired of it.  I like to be active and I had finally reached a point where I’m done with the pain.  So I went back to the doc and started physical therapy about 3 weeks ago.

I can tell a difference between this PT and the last one I had.  She’s tough but in a good way.  She has actually been working my hip muscles and even from her initial evaluation of my hip and legs, I knew that I had made a good decision.

But I do think she’s out to kill me.  Slowly.  Painfully.  Who says Physical Therapists aren’t assassins?

5 thoughts on “Physical Therapy

  1. Pingback: And now there’s a needle involved « Butterflies in my hand

Leave a Reply

