Goody Bag, Schmoody bag

I can’t believe it’s been a year already, but Little Man’s birthday is in two days.  Tomorrow commences our now-annual birthday party marathon.  One of his oldest and best friends (and they fight like siblings – or at least they used to) has a birthday the same day and so both Little Man’s and WB’s birthday parties are on the same day.  It’s become a common thing for me to call WB’s mom and plan who’s party will be when.  Last year, Little Man had the early afternoon time-slot of 11:00.  This year, WB’s party is at 11:00.  Luckily, neither of us have managed to schedule conflicting times.

I enjoy planning the birthday parties for the most part.  The kids are old enough that they can choose the cake they want and I help guide them on where to have the party.  We’re still on a budget, so we can’t always have the party at the coolest places.  This morning Monkey helped pick out the things to go in the goody bags, which brings me to the point of this post.

When did this “goody bag” tradition start?  I have yet to meet a mom that thinks it’s a good idea, so I have to wonder when it started and why we perpetuate this tradition?  Did it start because the birthday child was the only one getting gifts and the other kids pitched fits because it just wasn’t fair?  Is it a replacement to saying “thank you” or sending thank you notes?  Did it start with one mom just wanting to share the love and sending home presents for the other children that came to the party?  Is it some other mother’s sick idea of keeping the kids hopped up on sugar long after the party is over?

No matter what the origin is, I really wish it would stop.  Usually the goody bags contain those cheapie little toys and candy and I think I can speak for most moms – we get enough cheapie toys from McDonalds and gumball machines.  And right now, we still have Halloween candy left over!!

But I followed along with the goody bag tradition because this year, I didn’t have enough time to get creative.  Well, I say that but only because I’ve been so wrapped up in Christmas that creative planning for Little Man’s birthday didn’t really happen.

BUT!

I just got a great idea for next year!  For the amount of money I spent on goody bags and the junk stuff to go inside them, I could have bought a bundle of books from Scholastic Books and hand those out in place of goody bags.  Hmmm….. maybe it’s not too late…..

I think I need to go to the store….

23 thoughts on “Goody Bag, Schmoody bag

  1. Those are the nicest looking goody bag contents I’ve seen! Can I come to the party?…LOL…I haven’t played with a snowglobe in forever. 😀

    Happy Birthday to the little man…hope he has an awesome day!!
    Happy Saturday Sharefest to you!

    • I wish I could take credit for those, but I found that link on Flickr. I’d love to find little snowglobes like those, though, for stocking stuffers or little gifts for the kid’s friends. I did find a stack of books to give as “goody bags” instead of the bags o’ stuff, so we’ll be doing that instead. Thanks for stopping by again 🙂

      • Oh…heehee…just like a kid, I get excited from all the pretty colors and the possibility of what might be in there! LOL.
        You might just start a new trend w/goody books…parents around the world will be thanking you:)

  2. I really don’t know who started this little tradition, but I, too, dont really enjoy it. Actually, I’ve never partaken of it because my kids birthdays are always during the summer and we usually just celebrate them with the family kids so I dont feel as if I owe them for being there…they’re family of course they would want to come, right? 🙂

    Anyway, I think its great that your little guy and his friend get to party together, and, I applaud you as a mom for making the treats. 🙂

    Also, Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest and thanks for posting on my blog!!!

    • Thanks for visiting! Monkey has her birthday in the summer, too, so it’s very easy to plan hers (pool, park, backyard) but we still “have” to do goody bags. However, next year, we’re going to give books instead of goody bags. I like that idea MUCH better 🙂

      Thanks for visiting!!

  3. I don’t remember ever having goodie bags back home (Puerto Rico) maybe it was because we always had a piñata, not sure if it’s more economical but you could try plus it’s lots of fun!

    Happy SITS Day!

    • I’ve thought about having a pinata (can’t make that little squiggly line above the “n” 😦 ) but Little Man swinging a baseball bat scares me. Really. Maybe when he’s older, I’ll reconsider. Thanks for visiting!!

  4. Happy Saturday Sharefest!

    I look at goodie bags the same way I look at wedding favors: waste of time and money. lol I’m feeding you and entertaining you so the party is the favor, right??? lol

    I hope he has a wonderful birthday!

    • I agree! I just never “got it” and I think the books were a hit. One mother said she loved getting the book instead of the goody bag and thanked me.

      Thanks for the visit and birthday wishes! 🙂

    • Thanks for the visit! Luckily, there is a Scholastic book warehouse nearby and they were having their warehouse sale, so I got several nice books for 1/2 price – bonus!

      Have a great day!

    • When she gets in school – or even preschool, if you do that – and look for those Scholastic book orders. If there isn’t a warehouse sale near you, you can still order good books at great prices if you have the time to plan ahead.

      Thanks for the visit! 🙂

    • Thank you! The picture I had taken of my daughter before I even started the blog – it was just lucky happenstance that I had a picture of her holding a butterfly in her hand, even if it was paper.

      I think the goody book idea is a keeper and Monkey is excited about it for her party next year. 🙂

      Thanks for the visit!

  5. For one of my birthdays, I did a “bubble” theme and gave out goodie bags of bubble gum, bubble wrap, and bubbles.

    It was AWESOME.

    I say go for the book idea! It’s your party and you’ll cry if you want to?

  6. I try to get one good thing for each child instead of a whole bunch of junk. I figure that when all is said and done, I end up spending about $2-3 per child, whether it’s junk or something good. My favorite was when my oldest wanted a backyardigans party and I found plain yellow t-shirts in the craft store for $2 each. I bought backyardigans iron-ons from ebay and made each child a shirt. Probably a total of $2.50 each and they had something nice.

    • I ended up paying $2 per book, so I definitely think it was a great deal. I love the t-shirt idea, though! I might do something similar for Monkey next year (she turns 8 in the summer) and have all their friends sign each other’s shirts…
      Thanks for visiting and for the great shirt idea! 🙂

  7. I’m with you. I would love to hand out books, but somehow I feel a riot may ensue and the children take over.
    Maybe I’ll just let another mother try it out first and report on how she did.
    OK, we’re all waiting.

    • Honestly, I think the books were a hit. Of course, these were mostly 3 and 4 years olds, so they may not have realized what exactly they were missing out on. But really, I think it would work for older kids, too. What kid can turn down Captain Underpants?

Leave a Reply

