Barbie in a paper towel tube

I haven’t given an update on the hip problem I needed physical therapy for in a while.  There has definitely been improvement.  The therapist I had this time around is much better than the one I had in Oklahoma and after a few weeks, I could go a whole day without very much pain at all – even no pain for parts of the day.  Yes, she “broke” me at least once, where the pain from the therapy was more than the pain from the injury, but then she “fixed” whatever it was she broke and we moved on to the next thing.

But the bursitis would still come back.  My hip and leg was getting stronger and the stretching was helping keep my hip joint loose, but busy on-my-feet days, or even sitting in the wrong position, would make the bursitis flare up.  So, she told me to go back to see the Dr. and talk to him about it.  Her suspicion was that there was a tear and scar tissue of the labrum.

So, the doc sent me to get an MRI, which was scheduled for yesterday.

Now, THAT was an interesting experience.  Thank goodness I’m not claustrophobic.  And thankfully, since they were only imaging my hip, I didn’t have to go completely into the tube.  I was in all the way to my shoulders, but with the way the machine is made (think donut on it’s side), even with my head out of the main part of the tube, I still couldn’t see the ceiling, just the side of the machine as it curved outward from the tube.

Now, I’m no Barbie, but trying to explain to a 7 year old what an MRI is like, the only comparison I could come up with was to tell her to imagine sliding one of her Barbie dolls through a paper towel tube.

My cousin warned me to take ear plugs (he had to have one for his shoulder a while back) because it was noisy.  I am so thankful he did.  Let me tell you, the MRI is a LOUD machine.  Think jackhammer, plus emergency broadcasting system test, plus diesel engine (of a TRAIN!).  I can’t imagine what kind of noise it would have been had I not had the ear plugs.

But overall, the experience wasn’t that bad.  My body core got really warm but my toes got cold (I didn’t have socks on).  I had the strange sensation that my body was swelling a little, like – I don’t know – like the blood in my body was expanding.  Strange, I know, but I can’t really explain it any better than that.  I did start to feel a little nervous about it at the very beginning.  The idea of being confined in a tube and told “don’t move” is a little nerveracking but a few deep breaths calmed the nerves a bit and closing my eyes helped a lot.  Honestly, I think I may have even dozed a little.  Odd, I know, but I was in a prone position with my eyes closed for about 30 minutes and the noise of the machine, muffled with the earplugs, became almost a white noise for me to doze off to.  Really loud white noise.

Now comes the fun waiting part.  The radiologist will review the MRI today and get the info to the doc tomorrow, I hope.  Unfortunately, my followup appointment isn’t scheduled until January because of Christmas and New Year’s but since I don’t want to wait that long, I’m hoping I can get at least a little info over the phone.  I’m guessing I’ll still have to wait until after Christmas, though.

8 thoughts on “Barbie in a paper towel tube

  1. I had an MRI of my head about 2 years ago and it was awful. I never knew I was so claustrophobic. If only I’d thought of Barbie in a cardboard tube, maybe it wouldn’t have seemed so unpleasant? (of course, if you laugh, they start over.)

    • As “comfortable” as I was with just my body inside, I think I would completely lose my cool if I had to have one of my head. I really don’t think there’s any way around that – even trying to think of some way to make it funny.

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Pingback: Barbie in a paper towel tube « Butterflies in my hand iSilverlight

  3. Hi

    I remember the MRI I had on my lower back about 4 years ago.. I had to stop it early because I really got claustrophobic (lol) not being able to move my arms made me feel like I was in a box 😦 The operator had a great solution, she got me to wear an eye mask. The kind that you go to sleep with. It worked really well, I just imagined that I was lying on the beach with a towel over my face lol…. it got the job done

    Anyway, I’m so sorry to hear about the pain that you are going through at the moment.

    Here is a little advice that you can implement straight away that may really help.

    If you think that your bursitis is caused by a repetitive stress injury, or a repetitive activity is stopping the bursitis from healing, then it is best to try and avoid performing those tasks or correct the body mechanics when you do.
    – Use sound ergonomic equipment and setups.
    – Ensure you stay within the comfortable range of motion of the joint.
    – Keep muscular control over the entire motion being performed. Do not let things just flop around.
    – Do not stress the joint with particularly heavy or unbalanced loads.
    – Avoid side loading the joint. In other words keep the motion of the limbs in line with each other.
    – Do not place a static load on the area of concern. Keep things moving. Even sitting for a while places a static load some where.
    – Cushion the joint when possible. Use knee pads when kneeling and other pads on shoulders when carrying loads on them.

    Hope that helps you some.

    I truly do wish you good health and a fast recovery.

    Danniel Jacques (B.MedSci UNSW)

    P.S. Please feel welcome to visit my site to find out about a 100% natural bursitis treatment that I discovered http://www.treatment-bursitis.com

  4. Believe me, it is NO piece of cake for the head MRI. I am claustophic as you can attest to from scuba diving. Also, had one for the shoulder and that one put my head even closer to the top of the machine. They have to medicate me for the studies if I am going into the tube. Loved the explanation for Monkey. Sounds like you handled it much better than I. Love to all, M

  5. Pingback: And now there’s a needle involved « Butterflies in my hand

Leave a Reply

