Happy Birthday!!

What is it about birthdays and why do they sneak up on me?  I mean, it’s not like they are on different days every year or something.  Same bat-time, same bat-channel, every year.  Last year, or was it two years ago, I completely missed my dad’s birthday.  I called him the day after feeling like I was about an inch tall.  I miss my stepmom’s just about every year.  I always think it’s in May when in fact it’s in April.  I was late mailing my Father-in-law’s cards this year and he got his present almost two weeks late (but I have a good excuse for that one – I promise!).  I realized Saturday that my mom’s birthday is less than a week away and my sister-in-law’s is the week after.

At least I manage to remember my kids’ and my husband’s birthday or I’d be in big trouble.  Although, one year, I didn’t really do anything for my husband because that’s what he asked for.  You know, that “oh, you really don’t have to get me anything” routine.  I paid for that one.  Wife fail.

I do have to say that’s one thing I like about Facebook.  It reminds me when I have friends with birthdays coming up.  It even gives you something like 2 or 3 days notice.  I like that.  I need something like that to keep me in line with birthdays.  But it’s not just birthdays, though.  Christmas always manages to sneak up on me.  Again, how is that possible?  And am I the only one this happens to?

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!!

  1. Nope, you are not the only one. I suck at remembering people’s birthdays. Facebook is really great for that, if only it would email me reminders for certain people if I haven’t logged in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

