It’s not goodbye, it’s ’til next time

“It’s not goodbye, it’s ’til next time” is something I grew up hearing from my dad.  It’s also something I’ve gotten a little bit used to over the years.  I’ve moved numerous times in my life for a variety of reasons.  I’ve had to say “so long” to many good friends because I was moving on to new locales.

This time, it’s my friend who is moving.  She is someone who has become very important to me over the short time I’ve been in this current city and I’ve mentioned her before as my homeschool connection.  She’s a rock for me here, someone who would give me a straight answer, lend a shoulder to cry on, and is a faith-builder in every sense of the word.  She’s also my go-to gal for tons of good information, advice, gripes, and celebrations in all things homeschool.

Her husband is career military and has been stationed in another state for the last year.  She’s been living the “single” parent life and it hasn’t been easy.  Just in the last few weeks, they made the decision to put the family back together again and she’s moving to be with him for the next 18 months or so.  My head rejoices in their reunion but my heart doesn’t want her to go.

Last night we surprised her with a going away dinner and it was wonderful to see everyone together celebrating their friendship with her.  Several in the group were still in denial, but there weren’t any tears ~ at least none that I saw.  Just lots of laughter, stories, hugs and pictures.

But 18 months isn’t that long in the grand scheme of things.  We were in Oklahoma for about that long and there were some beautiful memories and friendships made in that time.  Looking back, 18 months just flew by.  I made some amazing friends, some of whom I still keep in touch with through Facebook, explored a part of the country I had never been before (love a good road trip!!), and most certainly not least of all, Little Man was born there.

I’m sure my friend will make some great friends there and even though leaving here will be hard, she’s a strong willed and minded woman and I know she will make the most of her journey.

But there’s nothing “good” about saying goodbye and it’s only 18 months or so, so instead, I’ll just say “’til next time, friend”.  And good thing there’s Facebook 🙂

Leave a Reply

