Eminem and The Swagger Wagon

I am a product of suburbia.  I have the stay-at-home-mom thing going on.  I have a great husband, beautiful children, amazing friends, a house that we hate (yeah, I know that doesn’t fit in with the picture I’m trying to paint, but we really don’t like the house and hope to sell it in the spring), and the “company car” of a stay-at-home-mom: the mini-van.

I have to say, whoever came up with the ad campaign for The Swagger Wagon is a marketing genius.  He or she must be a product of today’s family: busy mom, hip dad (but with a receding hairline), cute kids; otherwise, the commercials wouldn’t be nearly so funny.  There’s one in particular that I just love and it’s because of the rapping.  Many friends and I grew up in the 80’s with the classic rappers like  Sugar Hill, Erik B & Rakim, Run DMC, and Public Enemy, so it’s not unheard of for us little white girls to start rapping along when we happen to hear one of these songs on the 80’s lunch hour on the local hits radio station.

Which leads me to the other part of this post.  I love Eminem.  I can’t really explain it because rap isn’t something I generally listen to (80’s rap notwithstanding).  But there are several cuts off of Aftermath, The Eminem Show and Encore that are always included in playlists on my ipod and I even managed to like one or two off of of Relapse, although I don’t listen to them regularly.  But I have to say Recovery Rocks!!

I do know that Marshall Mathers is inflammatory at the least, but have you ever taken the time to actually listen to (or even read) his lyrics?  To quote a fellow blogger, Sean Platt, “Eminem brings all his verbal virtuosity to Recovery, weaving in and out of wordplay, as though a single misstep or broken syllable would crush his credibility.”

Now, that’s not why I like him.  Well, ok, it’s not the ONLY reason why I like him.  The rhythms and beats of the music resonate within and I find myself dancing and singing along as loud as I can while folding a pile of laundry or stripping wallpaper in Little Man’s room.  Which is quite amusing to the outside observer, I’m sure, because I only listen with the ipod since the kids are usually around.  But, yeah, this little white girl digs Eminem.

I’m sure I get some interesting looks in my Swagger Wagon, too, when I Love the Way You Lie (censored, of course) is played on the radio.  You know if I happen to be without the kids, I have it cranked, right?  Because that’s the only way to really appreciate Eminem, as loud as you can.  But even if the kids are in the car, I don’t change it, I just adjust the speakers so that they’re not playing in the back and pretend that’s enough. Hey, it’s censored, right?  Yep, I get that “mom of the year” award, don’t I?

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ql-N3F1FhW4

4 thoughts on “Eminem and The Swagger Wagon

  1. I LOVE THIS! I haven’t seen this one before, because I live in Nor-where, but I do drive a minivan 🙂 Fantastic. And I LOVE me some Eminem. I crank it up every day after I drop the kids off at day care, but I think they may be taking after me, because they keep asking me to turn up the volume on the radio….

    • Honestly, I’m not sure I ever saw this ad on TV – it was floating around my Facebook page for a while (between all my other friends with minivans) which is how I saw it. My daughter isn’t taking after me just yet; she still prefers Taylor Swift cranked up loud. Thanks for commenting!

  2. It’s so funny the looks I get when I tell people I love Eminem. “But you’re so nice,” they always say. Yes, but nice people like awesome storytellers, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

